Webb, Philosophy Win Big at 2016 PRSA Gold Picks

Webb Strategic and Philosophy Communication were the big winners at the the 2016 PRSA Colorado Gold Picks awards event. Using the proprietary and highly sophisticated Denver PR Blog formula to determine who fared best (two points for a gold, one point for a silver), the results are:

1. Webb Strategic (14 points) – Seven gold
1. Philosophy (14 points) – Five gold, four silver
3. WildRock (10 points) – Four gold, two silver
4. Denver Art Museum (8 points) – Nonprofit Award, three gold
4. Linhart PR (8 points) – Four gold
6. CIG (7 points) – Three gold, one silver
6. Colorado State University (7 points) – Two gold, three silver
8. Bawmann Group (6 points) – Three gold
8. Farm Credit Council (6 points) – Three gold
10. Blake Communications (5 points) – Two gold, one silver
10. Weber Shandwick (5 points) – Two gold, one silver
12. B Public Relations (4 points) – One gold, two silver
12. Denver Water (4 points) – Two gold
12. Fyn PR (4 points) – One gold, two silver
12. Lola Red (4 points) – One Grand Gold, one gold
12. Malen Yantis (4 points) – Small Practice award, one gold
12. MWH Global (4 points) – Two gold
12. SCRAM (4 points) – One gold, two silver
19. Darnaeur Group (3 points) – One gold, one silver
20. Bonfils Blood Center (2 points) – One gold
20. DISH Network (2 points) – Two silver
20. City of Commerce City (2 points) – Two silver
20. Fletcher Group (2 points) – One gold
20. Level 3 (2 points) – One gold
20. Mulligan & Co. (2 points) – Two silver
20. SideCar PR (2 points) – One gold
20. Sling TV (2 points) – One gold
20. Xstatic (2 points) – One gold
29. Orapin (1 point) – One silver
29. RightScale (1 point) – One silver

PRSA Colorado Announces 2016 Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2016 PRSA Colorado Gold Pick special award winners:

  • Swede Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award : Dan Hopkins, Scientific and Cultural Facilities District
  • PR Person of the Year Award: Jordan Blakesley, B Public Relations
  • Business Person of the Year Award: Nicolle Davies, Arapahoe Libraries
  • Joe Fuentes Rookie of the Year Award: Taylor Prather, Eagle County Government
  • Mentor of the Year Award: Nicole Yost, Fyn Public Relations
  • Chapter Service Award: Elizabeth Jumel, Jumel Public Relations
  • PR Team of the Year Award: Colorado State University’s External Relations Team

The Special Award and Gold and Silver Pick award winners will be recognized at the Gold Pick Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 5, 2016, at the EXDO Event Center.

B PR, CSG and CSU Land Bronze Anvil Awards

I’m way late on this, but a shout out to my friends Jordan Blakesley and BrieAnn Fast at B Public Relations for their national PRSA Bronze Anvil Award of Commendation. This year’s Bronze Anvil competition drew a total of 828 entries. Of those, only 71 organizations were selected by the Bronze Anvil Judges as Bronze Anvil Award of Commendation winners. And congratulations to CSG and Colorado State University, which also won Bronze Anvil awards this year.

CSG, CSU Big Winners at 2015 PRSA Colorado Gold Picks

Communications Strategy Group, JKD & Company, Cutter Communications, and Mulligan & Co. were the big agency winners at last night’s PRSA Colorado Gold Picks awards event. Using the proprietary and highly sophisticated Denver PR Blog formula to determine which agencies fared best (two points for a gold, one point for a silver, two additional points for the Grand Gold Pick/Small Practice/Nonprofit Best in Show awards), the results are:

1. CSG | PR (14 points) – Seven gold
2. JKD & Company (12 points) – Two Grand Gold Picks, Small Practice Award
3. Cutter (9 points) – Grand Gold Pick, Small Practice Award, one gold, one silver
4. Mulligan & Co. (8 points) – Four gold
5. Linhart PR (6 points) – Three gold
5. Philosophy (6 points) – Three gold
7. Blake (5 points) – Two gold, one silver
8. B Public Relations (4 points) – Two gold
8. Novitas (4 points) – Nonprofit Best in Show gold
8. WildRock (4 points) – Two gold
11. DStreet (3 points) – One gold, one silver
11. Webb (3 points) – One gold, one silver
13. Ayers PR (2 points) – One gold
13. CIG (2 points) – One gold
13. Gonder PR (2 points) – One gold
13. Monaghan (2 points) – One gold
13. Volume Nine (2 points) – One gold
18. Barefoot PR (1 point) – One silver
18. MGA (1 point) – One silver
18. Weber Shandwick (1 point) – One silver

And Colorado State University led the non-agency winners:

1. Colorado State University (14 points) – Seven gold
2. Leidos Engineering (4 points) – Two gold
2. University of Colorado/Skaggs (4 points) – Two gold
4. Kaiser (2 points) – One gold
5. Commerce City (1 point) – One silver
5. Colorado Health Foundation (1 point) – One silver
5. Denver Union Station (1 point) – One silver

The 2015 Special Award winners were:

• Pete Webb, Webb, Swede Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award
• Michelle Ellis, Orapin Marketing + PR, PR Person of the Year
• Meg VanderLaan, MWH Global, Business Person of the Year
• Amber DiGiallanardo, Linhart, Joe Fuentes Rookie of the Year
• Kristen Yantis, Malen Yantis, Mentor of the Year
• Margaret Fogarty, Farm Credit, Chapter Service Award

And the Public Relations Team of the Year was awarded to Sage Hospitality, Dunn Communications, Larimer Associates, dovetail solutions, and Aiello Public Relations & Marketing.

PRSA Colorado Announces 2015 BOD

PRSA Colorado announced its 2015 Board of Directors:

Executive Committee:
President: Cara Crifasi, co-founder, Evoke Creative Services
President-Elect: Nicole Yost, founder and president, Fyn Public Relations
Immediate Past-President: Julie Scott, director, Bonfils Blood Center Foundation
Secretary: Suzanne Trantow, Aguilar PR
Treasurer: Jerry Brown, APR, independent practitioner

Assembly Delegates:
Elizabeth Jumel, APR, president, Jumel Public Relations
Stacey Sepp, APR, principal, Xstatic Public Relations
Sara Spaulding, APR, vice president of communications and marketing, CenturyLink
Dana Stone, external communications director, Elavon, Inc.
Sarah Thornton, president, Thornton Public Relations

Michelle Kern, marketing and communications manager, Optis
Claudia Morlan, communications specialist, Elmore Public Relations
Diane Mulligan, president, Mulligan & Co.
Renee Robinson, APR, corporate communications manager, Ball Corporation
Jessica Sidener, director of communications, Arapahoe Library District
Jennifer Tillis, account director, Linhart PR