DPC Names P.J. O’Rourke Winner of 2010 Damon Runyon Award

I don’t know how Bruce Goldberg and the Denver Press Club does it year after year, but they have once again landed an impressive honoree for the DPC’s annual Damon Runyon award. This year’s winner is author and political satirist P.J. O’Rourke, who will be feted at a banquet in his honor on Friday, April 9, at the Denver Marriott City Center . Tickets are $100, or $80 for members of the DPC and PRSA Colorado (click here for tickets).

O’Rourke is the latest A-list winner of the award, and follows the likes of Jimmy Breslin, Mike Royko, Molly Ivins, Herb Caen, Pete Hamill, Ted Turner, Maureen Dowd, Tom Brokaw, David Halberstam, Ed Bradley, Carl Hiaasen, Seymour Hersh, George Will, Bob Costas, Tim Russert and last year’s winner, Rick Reilly.

Weise Adds New Client

Weise Communications added Birmingham, Ala.-based Messerschmidt Safety Consulting (MSC) to its client roster. MSC provides traffic safety and forensic analysis, emergency response, and Motor Carrier Safety and Compliance consulting throughout the Southeastern U.S., as well as consulting and training services nationwide. Weise will manage public relations, media relations, marketing, branding and social media initiatives for the company.